Grief Healing Discussion Groups

Loss Of My Dog

Balto

Hi, this is my first time ever in a support group so I'm not really sure what to do. I'd like help with coming to terms with the loss of my dog Jenna at 16 1/2 whom I lost on October 23, 2013 and then her sister Misty on February 20, 2014. I don't really have anyone to just let loose and pour out my feelings to, so it would be so nice to talk to someone here who has suffered the same type of loss. I hope to hear from someone soon. Thanks!

I am so sorry for your loss. Losing one fur any is tough and you have to be feeling very overwhelmed with the loss of two. You are more than welcome to pour out your feelings here. You have found a circle of wonderful, caring people who understand loss...be it a beloved person or pet. People here will respond but in the meantime do feel free to tell us about your dogs, post some pictures and tell us what happened. Again I am so very sorry. Check in here often and in time other members will post.

Mary

I am so sorry that you have lost both of your dogs, Jenna and Misty. You have come to a site where there are many pet lovers who have also lost their precious animals. Each one of us who post here on the ‘loss of a pet’ thread talk about the emptiness we feel because a part of our family is gone.

It will take time for you to adjust to this double loss. I am sure you have many wonderful memories to share of your pets. Do you have pictures? Tell us more about Misty and Jenna.

I have found that it does not make a difference if you have had your pet for a short time or a longer time. When the pet is loved time is not a factor. I adopted my Benji and had him with me for only a year. The little guy had seizures that could not be controlled. I do not have him now and I miss him.

There are many here who will tell you stories. We consider the pets we have a part of our family.

Anne

Hi,