Grief Healing Discussion Groups

My Journey Continues

Dear Members,

For those who are fairly new here, I am one of the two site's moderators (working with Marty as a moderator since October 2013) one who has been invisible since Nov. 1, 2014. I joined the forums as a member in December 2010, a few months after my beloved husband Bill died. In addition, I am and have been a psychotherapist for close to 40 years. Bill was a clinical psychologist so I lost my best friend, my beloved soulmate and my colleague. I have been serving as a moderator at Marty's request since October, 2013.

In November of 2014 (three months ago) I stepped back from my role here as moderator so I could re-focus my energies on my own loss for a while. I did that for my own sake, for the well-being of those I see in my clinical practice and for those I help here.

After Bill died I did many months of grief work and still do. That included participation in a local Hospice Spousal Loss group; working with a bereavement counselor; and participating here where I was comforted and supported by Marty and the members. We therapists are not exempt from feeling pain deeply and needing as much support as the next person. I also read dozens of books and articles (maybe hundreds of articles); journaled most days; wrote poetry; painted my pain with watercolors; returned to my meditation lost in the caregiving days as Bill and I struggled with his Alzheimer's for 5 years; and started doing my yoga again. None of this was easy and my patience wore thin often.