Grief Healing Discussion Groups

I Dont Have All The Answers, Even Though I Learned This Stuff In Schoo

Hi everyone

Though I am a therapist myself (LCSW) and have assisted clients with processing their grief, it doesn't mean I have all the answers when it comes to my own grief. Oh I know the words and the steps and all that, but it doesn't mean I process everything on my own.

My father died in January. He was 94. He was sharp and could tell stories with the best of them. He had not lost a step mentally and well, I guess I had gotten to the point where I thought he would make it to 100. My dad was never sick, and was typical of "The Greatest Generation"--never complained about things, just did what he needed to do, did it well and always with integrity and honesty. He was a great dad--supportive and proud of us.

I had just returned home, after visiting my family for Christmas. A few days later I was on my way back because my father had a catastrophic stroke. Almost a third of his brain was affected. Unfortunately, it was the parts that control speech/language, movement and swallowing. Because he couldn't swallow, he couldnt eat. He couldnt communicate very well--we could kind of tell what he was trying to say by his mannerisms, but nobody else could, as he couldnt speak. His life would be laying in bed, fed by a tube, waiting for strangers to turn him or change him. He would have had no quality of life. He would have loathed that. Just loathed it. So we made the decision for palliative care and Dad entered hospice. The hospice folks were wonderful and I cant say enough good about the help we received from them. He passed peacefully with all of us at his side.