Grief Healing Discussion Groups

What I've Learned From Allowing Myself To Not To Be Okay

On Friday, it will be 8 weeks since my best friend, Nick, passed away. He died suddenly, and we may never know the cause (which is one of the BIGGEST things I feel will never let me get past this). But I almost don't want to get passed it - I feel guilty when I'm not crying... but I know that is not what he would want from me.

I'm a writer, and one of the last conversations I had with Nick in person was him encouraging me to write as much as I can. I took his advice, and wrote an article, which Elite Daily was so graciously able to publish. My words have not healed me - but they did give me peace of mind knowing it's okay that right now I'm not okay.

I wanted to share it all with you - I really would wish this pain away from everyone... but this may be the only way I know how to be a voice in this sandstorm of emotion.

Stay strong <3

My dear Georgina, your article was wonderful. And I am so very glad you are allowing yourself to NOT be OK. It is so very important to acknowledge your feelings and let them be OK. Writing is a great tool and really does help us on this very tough grief journey.

Anne

Thank you for the article, and I'm sorry for your loss. I lost my son in January and your article describes my personal emotions very well, so it made me cry of course. what doesn't?

I did expect to have him forever, like your friend, our kids are supposed to outlive us. I lie daily too, many times a day, saying I'm ok to coworkers mostly, as I have lost most of my friends since he died.

I will try to follow your lead and write more. I used to be a writer myself, as well as a sketcher, a car-singer, a baker and amateur chef, and a jeopardy watcher, and a bicycle rider. There's so much that I don't do now that I hope to begin eventually doing again. Maybe writing is where I should start because there are always erasers.