Grief Healing Discussion Groups

Loss Of A Husband And Best Friend

I lost my husband on Oct.15,2004. He was 65 and I was 51. He died of leukemia after only being ill for 6 months. He was a paramedic/firefighter in the community we live in. We were married for 21 years. Our careers intertwined as I'm an ER nurse. I've read some of the books on greiving and am trying to keep putting 1 foot in front of the other every day. I am having trouble figuring out who I am without him. Many of you know what I mean. Lately I have been feeling very lonely. My adult children and grandchildren are close by. I have friends close by. I know all I have to do is pick up the phone and talk to any one of them but it doesn't seem to help. Many times they are busy with their lives. How do you fight the lonliness even though you are sometimes in a crowd? Do you know what I mean?

unsure.gif oh boy yes i know what you mean. The lonliness is only somthing that can be fixed by the presence of your loved one. I miss Ron so much. He died in June 2004 after a long illness. I try and stay busy and be with friends and family but most of the time it just doesn' t help. It isn't the same as being with him. I miss the things only we did together. I miss kissing his forehead at night. I miss coming home from work and having the porch light on which meant that Ron made dinner and was feeling good. I miss getting in the care and just driving with no particular direction in mind. I often wonder if I can ever expect to have another relationship and then I think why would I want what I can't have? I want Ron. Ron was 59 I am 47.

It definately helps to find a message board like this to connect with other people.

Take care and have a peacefull day.

Becky