Grief Healing Discussion Groups

Specific Bereavement

Guest Shannon

You'll have to excuse me, I've never done this type of thing before. I hope I don't get too long winded, but I figure it's time I find out if anyone else is going through the same type of things or if I'm just going crazy!

I have recently experienced many different types of loss within the last year. It began this time last year when I lost my best friend since the 6th grade (not a death but the loss of a long time friendship). Shortly thereafter my mother's husband left her and she basically had a breakdown and has moved with us (I lost the mother that she was and now basically am taking care of another child).

In March of this year, my father died (he basically bled to death internally due to severe alcoholism). We buried him on my birthday. He was not apart of my life everyday, but there were so many unresolved issues from my childhood at the time of this death. I grieved for things that were that never should have been, and things that should have been that never were! If that makes any sense. But in all, it was a healthy grieving process and it gave me closure.