Grief Healing Discussion Groups

"let Me Fix It"

Jay Wyatt

I'm a fixer. That's what I do I fix things. There's nothing that I can't fix. I stick with whatever is broken until I get it fixed. I don't give up. If I have enough time I will get it fixed. I was in the process of fixing Mary. I prayed nonstop for her healing. I believed without a doubt that she would be healed. I shut my ears to all of the people who were trying to tell us that she could die. I studied her disease so that I would understand it better and be able to make sure that she was getting the proper care. I constantly reassured Mary that we were going to get through this and that we would do whatever it took to beat this cancer. I spent sleepless nights caring for her. I spent all of time that I had everyday working on getting this fixed. But my problem was that I ran out of time. Cancer took her life before I could fix it. I feel like a failure. I keep retracing my steps to see where I failed. I keep telling myself that I did everything possible that I could to fix this but I still keep feeling like I must have done something wrong. I keep asking what went wrong and why couldn't I fix it. Does anyone else feel like this? Like there was something else that they could have done to fix it. Are there any other fixers out there who feel like they failed?

At times, I do the same thing. That's when the If Only's come in. Right now, I am at the point where I have to rely on the fact that God knew what he was doing when he took Tommy away from me. He is in no more pain and neither is your Sweet, precious Mary.

It's hard to accept, I know... because in doing so, I feel like I'm saying it's OK he died because it's not. It was unfair. We (all of us) can't beat ourselves up over things we can't change or fix. I'm reminded of The Serenity Prayer.

God grant me the serenity

to accept the things I cannot change;

courage to change the things I can;

and wisdom to know the difference.