Grief Healing Discussion Groups

Hospice Is Involved Now...

Well, my dad is now on hospice. The cancer has found it's way into his esophagus and is making it hard for him to swallow even pills. His oncologist informed us that there is nothing they can do. Those magical little words again. I cannot deal with my dad starving to death. He is still awake and well aware of what is happening. My heart feels like a vice is on it.

oh Sharla, I'm so so sorry hun, my heart goes out to you and I know there is absolutely nothing at all I can say sad.gif and nor do I even have any clue at all as to what you are going through.

All I can do is let you know I'm thinking of you, your Dad & family and sending lots of love and a big gentle hug your way,

Niamh

xo

I'm so sorry. When my dad went into hospice I just lost it.

I am no medical professional, but I was told by hospice and by reading that it's actually more comfortable to not eat or drink for a dying person. I don't know why, but the nurse assured me this was the case.

I know this probably doesn't give you any comfort at all, but I just thought I would share it.

Sorry again.

Dear Sharla,

I was so sad to hear this news, It's so hard not being able to give you a "real" hug right now, all I can do is write some words on a screen , and I'm not so good at knowing what to say. -_-

Is your Dad still able to talk to you ? Does he know exactly whats going on, and does he express his fears,etc.? All I can say is- try to spend as much time as possible with him, (even though I know that is hard sometimes), and don't let anything go "unsaid". When my Dad was sick last year, I spent a lot of time with him (and I'm thankful for that) but I do wish I'd told him more how much I loved him and how proud of him I am, I didn't know he'd be gone a couple of weeks from then.