Grief Healing Discussion Groups

So Depressed

It's been 6 weeks today...My son was 39, my oldest, and had a lot of problems, including a personality and seizure disorder. If he had a seizure it would leave him disoriented and not able to make good decisions for a couple of days after. His death was sudden and at the hand of someone else. I'm a nurse, I should have been able to help him and I tried. I'm able to get out of bed every day, but am not accomplishing much else. Everything is a push. I'm on a family medical leave and planning to go back to work in 3 weeks. I am so depressed, I don't know how I can find the energy. I'm taking medications to help with the depression and seeing a bereavement counselor, but if I could sit in my house in my pjs and never leave it I'd be good. I miss so much that I can't talk to, or hug or see my son! I think of him constantly and it's so hard to be happy about anything. My husband was his stepfather and is not in the same place that I am...

My dear friend, my heart is breaking for you as I learn of the death of your beloved son. I am so very sorry for your loss. It's good to know that you are seeing a bereavement counselor, and I hope you've found some of the many online resources that are available to you as well ~ most especially The Compassionate Friends. Please, when you have sufficient time, energy and ability to concentrate, spend some time browsing through some of the links to articles, books, organizations and websites listed on our Death of An Infant, Child or Grandchild page. You have suffered one of life's most heartbreaking and challenging losses, and it is imperative that you obtain the support you so need and deserve. I know you'll find that here you are not alone, and I as I welcome you to this very special place, I hope you can feel the warmth of our compassionate embrace.