Grief Healing Discussion Groups

Grateful For The Ordinary Things Along Our Journey

LadyCarrie

Our Trip to Modesto on 1 July 2015

3 July 2015

Amberly came for Jerry and me about 2 p.m. on Tuesday, July 1 to go to Jerry's appointment with our very good friend, Dr. P. Creaseman, who is a plastic surgeon at Modesto. This was Jerry's pre-op appointment for lesion removals (one at inner side of right arm at elbow, which appears to be healing, and one on each side of his neck; the two on his neck appear to be squamous cell carcinoma, which is the one stage more serious than basal cell, but not nearly as serious as melanoma).

Dr. Creaseman said that if I can drop Jerry's INR to 2.5 on the day of Jerry's surgery (July 14), he will do the surgery without the Lovenox injections. I believe I can do that. Jerry and Amberly told him that I'm an expert, and have this INR control "down to a science" (Amberly). This is far too important for me to feel overly-confident about it. Jerry's life is in danger without Lovenox at anything lower than 2.5 (mechanical valve can stick and quit), and he can have a spontaneous bleed from anywhere (eyes, nose, throat, internal vital organs) if INR is over 3.5. I never change his Coumadin. I control the INR with food.

Dr. Creaseman asked Jerry to describe the lesion on his arm when it was new, and had not begun to change. Jerry described it as looking "something like a wart." I said, "No, it didn't. It looked like an earwig." Jerry gave me a shocked smile, and they all laughed at my description. Well, it DID look like an earwig in shape and length, but not in color. Amberly said that she's sure he's never had a patient describe a lesion as having the appearance of an earwig. Dr. Creaseman still loves me. He told me so as he hugged me 'Bye, but he still won't give me the keys to his Jag. He'll take me for a ride, but won't fork over his keys (he knows I have Meniere's and now need cataract surgery).