Grief Healing Discussion Groups

loss of my pet dog

tony henry

i just had to put down by pet dog Cody of 14 years on Saturday not knowing this was about to happen as he seemed ok on Friday morning. I have been giving him his food twice daily for almost 14 years

and can still see his eyes looking at me as i prepare his food. We gave him home made food for the last 4 years. I spent most of my time with him since i only worked from 9.30 to 2.30 pm each weekday but the last two months i stopped working due to the corona virus and stayed at home most time with my dog. He was very affectionate towards me and my wife and we had to for most of his years kiss his nose when we got back from work each day. I have been sobbing and crying for the  last few days since he passed as grown up as I am. I feel an empty hollow feeling whenever i think about my dear Cody.  I do not know how long this will last but we are glad we had him as our companion especially me but I do miss him terribly.

I am aged 72 and my dog's age is 14 years

• Like 1

• 2 weeks later...

I am so sorry for your loss.  You and Cody had 14 years together and his passing is going to leave a hole in your heart.  It is such a blessing that he got to live such a long life.  The difficult part is because you've been together for 14 years it's going to hurt deeply.  You just know each other so well and understand each other needs intuitively.   I lost my dog two days ago and she was almost 14.  I am hurting just like you are.  How are you doing now?  Please tell me that it gets better.  Sending you cyber hugs.

• Like 1