Grief Healing Discussion Groups

My cat Rocky

Rjm

Hi. This is my first time using a blog. I am searching for anything to help me with my sadness over losing my 12 year old cat 3 weeks ago. I am particularly responding to the post from Shellbell7 because it sounds so much like what happened to my cat. His name was Rocky. I never felt so sad in my life over the loss of him. I am overwhelmed with thoughts of him and wanting to see him again and pet him again. I had him 12 years. He was black, long-haired, green eyes. He always came when I called him and always cuddled with me. He loved his belly being rubbed. He threw up a lot also. He got a lot of hairballs and I would take him to the vet to get check ups and he played and was happy. In December he got sick, stopped eating, and looked awful to me. He would hiss at my other cats who he previously was best friends with. I took him to the vet immediately when he wouldn't eat because he loved to eat. He was diagnosed with pancreatitis, but got a high fever and the vet said I should get him an ultrasound. This was over like a two week period. He got the ultrasound which showed that he had a large abcess or mass by his pancreas. I got a biopsy of it and they said it was not cancer. He started antibiotics and was acting more normal. He was better for like a week but in a lot of pain. I gave him pain meds and nausea meds and kept my hopes up. The vet said he would have to be on antibiotics for at least a month. We repeated the ultrasound two weeks later and although he was acting like he felt better the "mass" looked the same or larger. Then he started being in more pain and just lying around doing nothing. I felt so bad for him. It had been about 3 weeks now and I didn't know what to do. He was 12 and the vet told me surgery was not a good option because of where the mass was. He also said it could still be cancer, which was confusing to me. I thought we confirmed it wasn't?? I felt so bad for him. He was hiding a lot and