Grief Healing Discussion Groups

How Do I Do This

ROBYNN

I AM NEW TO THIS , THIS FORMAT AND MY MOTHER DYING. SHE HAS BREAST CANCER AND NOW ONLY A FEW MONTHS LEFT. I AM FALLING APART WATCHING HER DIE ....SLOWLY..... I DON'T KNOW HOW TO DO IT, I FALL APART AT WORK, IN THE CAR , ALL THE TIME NOW, I DON'T WANT TO EAT OR SMILE OR DO ANYTHING, I JUST WANT TO CRY AND SLEEP. IF I AM LIKE THIS NOW HOW CAN I POSSIBLY HANDLE IT WHEN " IT " COMES, I AM SO SCARED . HOW DO I FUNCTION DAY TO DAY, I CAN'T KEEP CRYING AND I CAN'T HIDE IT AS EASY AS I USED TO. I HATE THIS SO MUCH , I HATE CRYING I HATE THE LOSS OF CONTROL...... I AM SAD AND ANGRY. IF ANYONE HAS SOME IDEAS ON HOW I CAN GET THROUGH ONE DAY AT A TIME I WOULD APPRECIATE THIS, I HAVE TO KEEP GOING AND I JUST DON'T KNOW HOW.......JUST DRIFTING....... ROBYNN

Robynn - My heart goes out to you. I have no answers but I too am going through it. My Mom died this February. Cancer. I sat with her while she died at home with Hospis. My heart is broken along with my spirit too. If you can talk to the Hospis people near you they can help you. Really. They are amazing people. I still have crying fits, anger fits and dizzy spells when I talk about my mom... but as my mom always said "this too shall pass" so I hang on every day. Call Hospic... call the "Y" near you for grief counsling. Read the posts here. I hope it helps me and I hope it helps you too.

Dear Robynn,

We all are so very sorry to learn of your mother’s terminal illness, and can only imagine how difficult it must be for you to feel so helpless in the face of this vicious, unrelenting disease. It is extremely difficult to witness your loved one’s health and quality of life deteriorating this way, and as time passes you will find yourself experiencing all the emotions of grief in anticipation of losing your mother. This is known as anticipatory grief, and the physical and emotional reactions involved are the same as those experienced in normal grief.