Grief Healing Discussion Groups

Lucie

Iowa

Saturday, April 24th Lucie, my 13 month old Minature Pinscher was killed by

a hit and run driver. They never stopped, or came to our door, nothing.

I wasn't home when it happened, if I was home she would still be alive.

My hus. let her outside and didn't put her on her tie out, knowing that

she chased cars. We live in the country but it is still not safe to let a pet

run loose. I have never felt so much anger towards my hus. as I do now.

We haven't spoken a word to each since then. The only thing he said was

"you should have tied her up before you left". I buried her and cried all

alone. Lucie was my sunshine, my baby. She was full of life and loved to tease and play with the other dogs. She slept on my shoulder and would always cuddle with me. Now nothing, it's all gone.

I am no expert so hopefully Marty will chime in. My husband and I have a really specical relationship. We our sole mates and best friends ... except when it comes to sick kids! I just don't get it, you would think that two people who love each other would be leaning on each other, however my experience has been pretty much the opposite. Steve has a hard time making the decision of when to let go, not that it's easy for me, I just feel he sometimes lets the kid suffer too long. When we were deciding whether or not to put Petey through Chemo, it wasn't a lot of fun. There was much discussion and disagreements.