Grief Healing Discussion Groups

My Cat's Brother Is Grieving

peggyo

This is my first time doing something like this. I am hoping someone's experience will help me, or direct me for guidance. It's all about my cats, brothers Sam and Max. I found and took in my Sam and Max when they were 3 weeks old. Now they are almost 12 years old; my first pets,my first committment, and my most cherished companions. Max was dx last week with an agressive cancer, and he is dying. He is not in pain. He is tired, and now not eating, and doing some drinking. I am going to have to help Max with his leaving me. I am waiting for the "you'll know" moment. Just as I thought it was time to plan a visit to the vet, I found my Sam curled up with his dying brother under the bed with his arm across Max's belly. Sam has been skittish around Max since he has been sick. But this scene warmed me, broke my heart and I realized that I am not the only one losing a loved one...In 12 years, Sam has not been without his brother for more than the time it takes to go the vet! How ever do I care for Sammy? However do I leave him to go out to work? or shop? or vacation? how can I leave Sam without his brother Max? Thank you for sharing with others.

peggyo,

All of you have my sympathy in this sad time of change and transition. I faced the same challenge when my girl, Nissa, lost her brother, Sabin. They'd always been together, even during routine trips to the vet for one - I'd tote them both along, so one would have the company and support of the other. So the only time they'd spent alone was when Sabin got cancer and had to spend a wknd. in Emergency, then a couple more vet trips by himself after that.