Grief Healing Discussion Groups

Hi. My name is Stephen and this is my first time posting. My wife died in April and I made every mistake possible afterwards. We were together 27 years.

She had ovarian cancer so we knew that it was only a matter of time but still wasn't ready. I fel apart for a couple weeks but since I'm from the "bootstraps" generation you're supposed to move on with your life.

Returned to work ( good thing, kept me sane) and tried to develop a life without Jeanie. Started drinking way to much. Stopped eating unless reminded lost about 42 lbs.

Of course loneliness set in. I met a nice lady and proceeded to make an a** out of myself ( someday, I'll have to apologize to her).

Instead of rambling I'll make a long story short. Everything crashed all at once, depression, loneliness, finances, job stress, etc all came down and I melted down ( may have been a goodthing if not then who knows what might have happened). Currently on anti- depressants, quit drinking, not all together have a beer every now and then, and seing a counselor.

Friends listen but really don't understand, half think all I need is a new relationship. Other half starting to avoid because I'm depressing.

How do you get through the day ? I'll do anything to get out of the house and be around people just to hear people enjoying themselves. Evenings are the worst.

Sorry for length. Hard to stop when get started.

Stephen