Grief Healing Discussion Groups

Too Much To Handle Sometimes

If I try to make this post make too much sense I won't post it. I'm a writer, but when I try to put my own pain out there I get swept away in it all, and my usual steps of freeform writing and then reworking the words until I find them good enough just doesn't work with this....

It's July, damn July, this is the month that both of my parents died. My father 4 years ago on July 1st 2000, and my mother was taken 3 years and 29 days later....so my July starts and ends on 2 very sad notes.

My father was struck and killed while riding his motorcycle, he had retired a month earlier and had left just that morning to go on a month long trip to Alaska, he'd been looking forward to it for years....he died 2 hours into it. I was the one who answered the door to the police that day, and I thought at first they were there to arrest me for a speeding ticket I hadn't paid, and I was grateful my father wasn't there to see it, how convenient I'd thought, that he left just this morning and won't have to see me taken away....

I had prayed the night before he left, asking God to keep him safe, and that didn't happen, I was so angry and scared and all of that other...and worked on that grief, and slowly got better.

In 2003 as July 1st passed by, I thought it was sad that my mother and brother and I weren't together that day to remember my dad, I thought, we should all be closer, we should be commiserating together on a day like this....

I was still angry with God, and fate and all that...