Grief Healing Discussion Groups

Cancer And Death: A Love Story In Two Voices

Dear Ones,

By way of recommending the book, Cancer and Death: A Love Story in Two Voices to you, I’m sharing with you below the exchange of e-mails I’ve had with the author these last few weeks:

July 17, 2008

Dear Marty:

My name is Nick Trujillo, and I am a professor of Communication at California State University, Sacramento. My wife Leah Vande Berg, also a professor of Communication here, died 3 1/2 years ago from ovarian cancer.

Before her death, we decided to write a book about the experience, telling the story of cancer, death, and grief from both of our perspectives and including the voices of other friends and family members who were involved. The book, titled Cancer and Death: A Love Story in Two Voices, has just been published by Hampton Press. I ask you to consider getting this book given your interest in the grief process. I have attached a pdf file with the Table of Contents and a sample chapter for your consideration.

The book has received several endorsements from doctors, nurses, and officials of cancer and grief organizations. Russell Friedman, Executive Director of the Grief Recovery Institute, said this about the book: "Sadly, death is sometimes the best teacher we ever get about living. This book connects death to life and prompts--no, compels--us to live every moment to the fullest." Actress Fran Drescher, Uterine Cancer Survivor and President and Visionary of the Cancer Schmancer Movement, said this: "I applaud Nick Trujillo for his courage to share the story of his love for his wife who sadly lost her battle with cancer. It is both touching and inspiring."

The book can be found on the Hampton website link below, or you may call 800-894-8955 to ask about it. The paperback version is listed at $23.95, and the ISBN number is 978-1-57273-851-5.