Grief Healing Discussion Groups

Fight Or Flight?

Friends, I hit a brick wall today. I woke up at 12:30 a.m. - couldn't go back to sleep. My mind was in total turmoil. I tossed and turned until it was time to get up at 3:45, and I felt a panic attack coming on like I haven't experienced. I don't know what triggered it - but I had to force myself to go in to the shop (I own a bagel shop/deli) and MAKE THE BAGELS. For the first time, I took a quarter of a Xanaax - I have never done that before, but I thought I was going to lose it. My waking/sleeping dreams were disjointed, sorrowful - awful - the reality of Joe never coming back is so here now, 4 months into it. Good Lord, how do we get through this?? I need some comfort! Marsha

Marsha,

Oh, if only I had the words for you. I want so badly to bring you comfort. Please know that you will get through this. You do it one day, one hour, one minute at a time. In the moments that you are in such deep grief it feels like you can't manage the pain, but you can and you will.

This forum has been so helpful to each of us. When one of us is down the others jump in and bring words of encourage and comfort. I'm at 14 months since my husband's death and I can truly say that the sharp edges of grief are smoothing out somewhat. I still have my moments and that's when I come back to this forum for help.

Sometimes I just read what others are saying. It helps to know I'm not crazy and that the emotions of grief are similar among all of us.

Please hang in there. We all will hold your hand and help you through this, just like we have with each other. We really do care about your pain!

With Love,

Pat

Hi Marsha,