Grief Healing Discussion Groups

Don't Know How To Move Forward

I am new to the HOV forum, but after reading some of the posts, I felt safe in sharing what I'm going through. My husband passed away on April 15, 2011. We found out in mid-March that he had 7 brain tumors (3 the size of an egg yoke) and he was filled with cancer. It appears that he had stage 4 small cell lung cancer that had metastasized to the brain and all over his body. He died just 4 weeks later. We were devestated and my whole world has been turned upside down. What makes it worse is that his former wife and the mother of my 3 step-children died just 1 1/2 weeks before my husband so our kids are just in shock and deep grieving themselves so I don't feel I can lean on them. I am so depressed and don't know how to move forward. We were together for 25 wonderful years and I'm so blessed to have had this man in my life! He was definitely a gift from God. I've lost both of my parents and my sister, as well as my husbands parents and brother. But I have never felt such raw emotion as I am experiencing right now. I've lost all of his income and had to take in a roommate to make ends meet. I work in full-time ministry in addition to a part-time job and taken over my husbands property management business.

What I find most difficult, though, is that no one wants to hear about Ross for fear of "making me sad". Some people at work have even commented that I just "need to get over it and move on". How insensitive is that!!!!!! I am trying to find a support group to join to help me in dealing with this awful grieving. I would love to hear from others who have lost a spouse and things that have helped you in moving on with life. I'd be so grateful! I feel very alone in this, yet I know I'm really not. My one saving grace is that I do have a very strong faith and God-willing, I will one day be reunited with my husband. But right now, I miss him horrible! Any suggestions or words of wisdom?