Grief Healing Discussion Groups

Overwhelming

hello to all,

I am new on this side of hospice or most medical care. i work in a hospital and worked with hospice long ago but now I am on the other side of the fence. It is so very hard. Currently my boyfriend is in the hospital I work at. we are trying to gain control of his pain. The hardest part is not being able to fix this. I am pretty good at fixing things but I can't fix this. He is only 45. I know people much younger have suffered....but he's only 45.

People always ask, how are you doing? I really dislike that question? Most of the time I say fine...but that is a lie. Now I say "I say I'm fine but you know". I just really wish people wouldn't ask...it breaks my heart...and as I say, this is my hospital, so I know they truly care.

Thank you for hosting this site...it feels right to post here.

Blessings to you, Teresa. I'm so sorry to learn about your boyfriend's serious illness. You've found your way to a very warm and caring place, and I know that you will feel less alone here, as you face whatever lies ahead on this very challenging path. We are here for you, holding you gently in our collective heart.

Teresa,

I am sorry you find yourself in this situation. I am glad you are surrounded by supportive caring people. My work environment was like that when my George passed away, I am definitely glad I was working there at that time instead or where I currently am, it helps a lot. People don't know what to say so they reach out with whatever words they can find..."How are you" seems to be the most often used phrase. I don't remember answering "fine" to those I thought cared, but neither did I want to get into how I really felt. Maybe a simple glimpse of the truth, like "it's hard..." or something to that effect if you don't want to say "fine" and wear a mask.

I'm sorry your BF is in so much pain. If you ever want to come here and unload, we're here.

(((hugs)))

Kay