Grief Healing Discussion Groups

Upcoming Wedding Anniversary

I'm a newbie to this grief group, and a newbie to bereavement and loss...I'm hoping to learn some wisdom from this forum. My husband died last month after a short illness. Gratefully, we had time to gather family, make a few important decisions, cry/laugh together as we said goodbye. I'm back to work and household maintenance, slowly healing from some early grief physical effects like insomnia and loss of appetite.

I feel solace in my social isolation and anxious going to concerts/movies/dinner (I've tried), so I'm declining most offers from well-meaning friends. I feel I'm disrespecting my husband when I do "normal" social activities.

Our wedding anniversary is coming up; just thinking of it crumples me into a raw, teary blob. I truly don't know how I'm going to make it to and thru this first milestone event so soon after his death. Any similar experiences or suggestions?

JeL

Guest babylady

welcome to our forum. so sorry for your loss. my husband passed 5/27/12. it was a short illness too. he had an inoperable brain tumor. we were together almost 42 years. we would have been celebrating our wedding anniversary on the 28th.

i'm still a mess. i cry every day.

we didn't have many friends. a few died. i'm in phoenix and i have a few friends back in NYC who i stay in touch with.

i have several health problems -- nothing that will kill me but i don't get out much. if i were able to i wouldn't feel like i was disrespecting john. he would want me to go on with my life.

i too enjoy my solace. i sleep a lot. i have CFS/ME, but sleeping is also an escape.

arlene

arlene, thanks for your reply.