Grief Healing Discussion Groups

Recent Death Of My Cat

Guest Guest_KATE_*

Guest Guest_KATE_*

I'm new to this. My beloved 10-year old cat Harlequin had to be put to sleep 12-03. I'm in a state of shock, even though I knew he was sick and wouldn't last much longer. I keep looking around the apartment for him. The pillow on the sofa where he used to lay is imprinted with his body shape. I had left the radio on for him this morning before I went to work like I always do; when I came back I realized I don't need to do that anymore. It's so empty and quiet now. No more thumping of paws to greet me, no dragging of shoes down the hall by the shoelaces so I could put them on. No moresitting up and begging, or putting front paws in my lap and waiting politely until I picked him up. I've lost my best friend.

Kate, i am so sorry you had to have your Harlequin put to sleep. my heart truely goes out to you. i know all to well what that is like. oct 28th i had to have my mokie put to sleep. she was 22 years old and my life.we to were expecting her to go. she wasn't doing well in her last days but still you are never ready. it don't matter how yound or old they are. even though i have other cats and dogs mokie was my life and my world revolved around her every need. i can still see her sleeping in her favorite chair. still setting by the fridge waiting for something to eat. i strain to hear her voice. she would carry around one favorite toy and meow around the house with it.

your routine will stay with you for quite some time.

i know since its just happened that you don't want to do anything but i want to encourage you to seek help and support at this time. it makes a world of difference BELIEVE ME. your heart is breaking, I KNOW, and that is ok. we all grief differently. don't let anyone tell you your making a big deal out of this.