Grief Healing Discussion Groups

Just Some Of My Thoughts

Amz

Well I have been thinking about things today because it's been 3 years since my Mum passed, and well I have some things on my mind.

Its a bit weird but I don't feel sad today, but I am supposed to right?

Can something be so painful that you don't want to face the emotions and feelings of that pain?

Amy

Hi Amz. I'm distinctly uncomfortable with telling anybody how they should feel. Feelings are just there, and it's hard to put on on a face when we don't really feel it.

You ask a big question with your last sentence:

"Can something be so painful that you don't want to face the emotions and feelings of that pain?"

Well, I'm no expert on 'pain' or 'human emotion', but I will hazard an answer. Yes indeed, I think people can develop avoidance behaviors when it comes to the matter of emotional pain. Probably it's better to face pain when we can, in some way dealing with it and settling the matter in small ways. But when the pain is overwhelming, it's just real hard to collect and compose ourselves to face it all squarely. I think we can learn to handle the pain better if we digest it in smaller doses. For example, some of us here can't look at photographs of departed family members, because of a sudden rush of painful emotion. And that's OK; we can't force ourselves to digest painful stuff on command. On the other hand, looking at the photos now and then is a way of dealing with the emotional pain. We memorialize our lost family members in this way, gradually changing the photo from being about pain into a ritual of honoring a family member.