Grief Healing Discussion Groups

Fresh grieving of a lost dad

Hi all, sorry to hear about all these heartbreaking stories, may God be with all of you and I hope you find the strength to push through. 

I'm new to this so please bare in mind. Im 18 Male and 3 days ago my dad suddenly died of a heart attack at home, I found him dead on the floor. At first and even now I just feel weird, very weird, I've always been a happy person who never let's anything bother him, I always am the supportive friend to my group. I can only describe what I'm feeling as numbness or nothingness, shock and denial. I sometimes feel nothing seems real even plain simple things. I know it's all just trauma and I'm gonna get past this, but these feelings are new to me and im learning how to embrace them, I always think about him and how I could've done something.. guilt... I know, i let myself deal with that as i know it's normal and untrue. I'm the man of the house now so I put my feelings aside and be there for my mom and sister, I feel like this has woken me up as a person and I now know only I can take responsibility for my life and that I must appreciate everything I have. I have dealt with the first step of grieving.. acceptance, you cannot keep yourself in indenial, rather let the thoughts come through, think about it(cry if you must) and then deal with it, don't push it all aside, let the natural process do its thing, it's different for everyone. I keep telling myself it only gets better from now on and I try stay positive throughout the day, I hope the worst has come for me. I pray for all you guys going through such losses and may you find peace within yourself and thrive for the memory of your loved ones.