Grief Healing Discussion Groups

Today Is My Dad's Birthday...i Want To Tell My Story.

My hero died October 28th 2005. I've never told anyone the guilt of my dad's death.

Aug 25th, is his birthday.

Let's journey back almost 2 years ago.

Before I started my own company, I worked as a manager for 22 stores in the wireless industry. So, anybody in retail, on this site understands the holiday times. Every year I endured Christmas time, no time off, work every minute and every hour.

So, I decided that I would take a few days off, before the Big Christamas holiday would come.

October 28th, 2005:

My first vacation day:

I was getting ready to close on my home/ Nov 1st 2005. (so thankfull, dad was able to help me with the bidding, and drove by my new home). So I went on a shopping spree for my new home.

I live in the midwest, it's October, beautiful change of color, (I remember the colorful leaves fallen at my dad's buriel, and I thought, ( thank god for showing me he is here). It was if the yellow, orange, brown leaves flying around, spoke to me and said, "Here I'am Child, do not cry"

Anyway,

I woke up that day happy, (NO WORK) I went on my shopping spree for the new home. I thought about stopping and seeing my dad that day for coffee, we always would drink coffee together (morning, noon, night) and would talk about, work, polictics, anything. (my dad lived 10mins away from me).

But, I remember...

A beautiful autumn day, and I shopping for my new home, that I thought was so important. I remember even having a spring to my step that day.

5pm comes, I pick my boy up from school, a neighbor calls and ask if he can spend the night, (must have been god's call, because you see my dad had died already @ 4:30pm) My son Nathan, wants to go.

It is 7pm, I vacuumed, mopped, started a load of laundrey, before anyone could get the courage to call me.