Grief Healing Discussion Groups

Losing The Mum That I Came To Know

snicole

Hi there all

This is my first time posting, so here's hoping someone may understand the pain that I feel.

As I had had a highly abusive childhood at the hands of my biological family I have always had to deal with issues of grief over relationships.

Just over two years ago I worked for a woman who became mum to me. She was everything that I hoped for in a mum and loved me as her daughter. Long story short I was welcomed into their family with loving arms, to which I readily took up the offer (foolish of me). Quickly cracks started to appear in this new family as the husband was becoming ever increasingly jealous of my relationship with mum. I called him dad and tried to do everything that a daughter would do to help her parents, but when mum went to work he would tell me inappropriate things about their disintegrating marriage and how he was going to kill himself if mum left him. He specifically used to tell me that he would hang himself, as this is what my biological sister did when I was 10 (something that I have never recovered from). He began to treat both mum and I more and more like servants, making him dinner every night, not being able to have a conversation without him walking in to see what we were doing and talking about, telling her that she was either spending too much time at work, with me or on her laptop and not enough with him. He refused to look at the finances and left ALL responsibility up to us. It was our duty to tidy during the weekend, to remind him to have a shower, to pay attention to his daily ailments, to get him to the hospital every time he felt that he may have had a virus and the list goes on.