Grief Healing Discussion Groups

Why Does Each Day Seem To Get Harder Not Easier?

Guest Dayna

On Tuesday January 10 (this week), it will be one month since my father has died. I am completely and totally lost. I am a teacher and most days work is really hard. I have to put on this fake happy face for my students and the people around me. I am only 23 years old (with a birthday coming up next month). My father just turned 52 years old. He was an alcoholic for many, many years of his life. He was a functioning alcoholic, meaning that he worked everyday and seemed to enjoy his work. Most people ask me how I am doing and they tell me they are sorry for my loss. Then they ask me what my father died from and when I say liver cancer due to alcoholism they give me a funny look. Like I am not supposed to be sad or that he got what he deserved because he drank most of his life. I truly believe that it is a disease and for most alcoholics it is a way of life and that they don’t know how to change their ways. Growing up there were bad times, some really bad times but there were also good times. I know it sounds weird but I was Daddy’s girl from the beginning even though he wasn’t always very nice to me when I was a kid. We still had a very close relationship. Besides my husband, he was probably my best friend. He knew he did things in life that weren’t right, but I guess he did the best he could at the time. As I got older, we became really close and always had great talks. He could talk for hours on any subject. I frequently met people that he knew, that already knew me because he bragged about me all the time. It was nice to have some one that was so proud of me and my accomplishments. I miss him terribly and I don’t know how to cope. I feel like I have no one to be proud of me anymore and I feel like I am nobody’s little girl anymore. Most days I feel like I am running in circles trying to catch my tail. Christmas was really hard for me. Last Christmas my dad and I had a r