Grief Healing Discussion Groups

Regrets

My mom found out she had lymphoma at the end of August. She was already living with me as she looked for a house in my area. While she was sick she stayed with me. My brother who lives 12 hours away took leave from his work to stay with us too. Mom's Dr. would never give us a clear picture of how much longer she had. i was going to take a leave from my job inmid December (I am a teacher) and not go back until she was better or had passed on. I wanted to devote as much time as I could with her. My brother and I were always with her in the hospital. One of us always stayed the night. I have a 2 year old so I was struggling with time with her and time with mom. I live 45 minutes from the hospital so I would have to run home to get clothes etc. a couple times a week. I wish I have taken of from work sooner. I was ther for her doctor's appoinments, chemo., and hospital stays, but not when she was simply at home. I wish I had stayed at home with her and just asked someone else to run my errands. The last time she was in the hospital she was just in there for a simple procedure and I needed to sleep at home due to the fact that my daughter was having some problems with me being gone. When I got to the hospital the next morning my mother was unable to talk or move her limbs. I wish I had been there with her that night. I never left again. I was afraid to say too much about how I felt about her because I didn't want her to think I had given up on her. I just wish I could go back and make sure she knows just how much she means to me. On the night of Dec. 6th, she was having an x-ray in a possition that was painful for her. I asked that she be given medication to hep her. Right before they gave her that, She threw up. They then also gave her medicine to stop that. I helped the nurse clean out her mouth, change her sheets and clothes, and told her she would be ok. She could barely wisper "ok." She then went to sleep. My brother had just