Grief Healing Discussion Groups

Resources I Have Tried

nwnightowl

Hello everyone.

For anyone out there who doesn't know me I am grieving the loss of my latest jack russell Harley who passed away on April 25th. I have been devestated by his loss, but I wanted to try and do something useful for others who are grieving the loss of a fur baby. Since Harley passed away I have been like a sponge looking for any infromation that might help. I have read 3 books to date and thought I would give quick reviews. I am not a professional reviewer but I thought I would share my insights. I have a stack of about 9 books I am working on so it may take a while to finish. Some of the books were recommended via Amazon, some from other threads on this site and some from other sites and some I found looking around online. Anyway I hope this might be helpful to someone out there looking for answers. I wish the pet board people were more active, it seems like a very quiet part of this message site. I hope you each find a little peace this week. I will update as I finish more books. :closedeyes:

1. Waking Up, Climbing Through the Darkness by Terry Wise: I was disappointed in this book, I had really high expectations for it. It is about a woman who becomes suicidal after the death of her husband. I got it because after the death of my first dog I was suicidal and I thought this might offer some insight. It reads mostly like a tribute to her therapist, while I am glad she connected with her therapist, it didn't help me any. I was looking for more dialogue about how she felt and how she did things like managing to get up in the morning, and what I found wasn't that helpful. It reads well though, I give it a B.