Grief Healing Discussion Groups

A Tribute To My Love

When George passed away, I didn't care about anything. I was depressed. I didn't care if I ate or not. I didn't care if I lived or not...in fact, I wondered why I had to. The things that once mattered to me no longer did. I had always loved stamping...I've been doing it for about 19 years and I'm good at it. It has always been a release for me, a way of releasing stress and feeling better. George used to love to watch me stamp. He said I made "happy sounds" when I stamped (whistling, humming, etc.)...I wasn't even aware I did until he told me that. He used to stay in the family room with me when I stamped, and he'd whittle time away on the computer, just to be near me. He was always proud of my work and he'd show people or tell people about it. We'd always planned on marketing my stuff when we retired, using the time to travel around to different shops...another way of spending time together...he loved to drive. But after he died, so did my dreams.

But I was lucky...one day my pastor's wife and a friend came up and said they were going to come up every Tuesday evening and have me show them what I know. They weren't fooling me...I knew it wasn't so much about them learning my techniques and mediums as they were getting me out of myself and getting my creative juices flowing because it was healthy for me. And they were right.

Tonight I can't sleep...instead of fighting it, I have been enjoying myself, making cards. I send cards to people who are hurting, who've lost a loved one, who are ill or injured, who suffered a break up, who need encouragement, who are out of work, have a child that is straying, people who have birthdays, anniversaries, or other causes to celebrate. I enjoy uplifting them as much as I do making the cards. I've even sold a few at our local art gallery.