Grief Healing Discussion Groups

Triggers and overwhelming grief

ErinMS

Biggie left us on the morn of Jan. 16th, 2022. He was 18 and lost to lung cancer after a week.

I'd been a veterinary technician for 3 yrs before he came into our lives. His story starts when the Vet's best friend brought him by because he was running around his neighborhood with no tags or microchip. He stayed at the clinic for 2 wks while we waited for an owner to call. I fell in love with him and asked my boyfriend(now husband) if we could have him. Well, to make it short-he came home and was our Biggie. He was attached to my husband ever since.

We never had kids so our 4 legged kids are. We now have 2 instead of 3. Which does help but.....not the same.

I've been having grief issues. At first I cried and cried and cried. As a vet tech, I thought if I can get him to eat we'll get chemo and have a few more with him. I held out until he told me, "get Dad, it's time".  It was Sunday morning and we'd had the worst night ever.  We left for the clinic. I had already left messages to the vet and 4 of my co-workers to help us and that he was dying and needed to go over the rainbow 🌈 bridge. My husband and I waited 2 hrs. I was almost about to tell him we needed go to the emergency clinic when I was able to get the stuff I needed. No one came to help us so I had to do it myself! As a vet tech we have to go thru this torment over and over again. But this was a whole other monster that Is still eating at me. I was thanked by my husband to have been able to stay with our Biggie to the end and that I was very courageous to do this, but it's still looming in the shadows waiting for me. He went very peacefully and closed his eyes. That didn't make it any easier.