Grief Healing Discussion Groups

My dad's still around, but he's not

Hi everyone,

I'm so happy to have found this community. A little bit about myself: I am a 29 (soon to be 30) year old American male. I am currently an English teacher in South Korea. I've been working here on and off since 2018, few years before the pandemic. I spent most of my 20s here, and not sure where exactly I will go yet. For now, all I know is that this fits my lifestyle.

My father is 72. Two Christmases ago, he had a heart attack just one week after I returned to Korea. At that time, I was really distraught. Ever since then, his health has been declining rapidly. He is in stage 3 or 4 of dementia, I'm not sure the exact stage. I decided to return back to the US last May in an attempt to be able to spend more time with him. The time is well spent, but it agonizes me that he can't remember any of those moments. Dementia is a demon. I could not fully integrate back in the States, so I returned to Korea just a few months ago. Although I really enjoy my life and living here, I feel a new level of isolation knowing that my father is nothing like what he used to be. He was just forced to retire, which means lots of time at home, and I don't think he's ever been used to this much free time in his life. Not only that, at this point, taking him out in public has become a burden and a danger. I know that it's really putting a damper on my mom, as she's still in her mid 50s. She's very sharp and this is affecting her as much as me.