Grief Healing Discussion Groups

Missing My Mom

So, I'm new to this, but I thought I would try it out since I don't have anyone to really talk about this. Here's my story...

I lost my mother to pancreatic cancer on May 23, 2009, just two days after my high school graduation. The day of my graduation, the doctors were telling us my mom only had a few days left. They next day they told us they were going to move her to hospice because those weeks had now diminished to days. Because of all this, the joys of graduation really weren't there. I wanted my mom to be there more than anything. I asked her 2 weeks before she passed if she remembered that I was graduating soon and she said " yeah I know, in 2 weeks". After my mom died, nothing really went the way we (me and my siblings) wanted it. My mom's low life boyfriend threw away all of her clothes 2 weeks after she passed without asking and left us with hardly anything. This hurt my little brother because all he wanted was one of her night shirts. It also took us 4 months to get her ashes from him, just an awful experience with him all together. Aside from all of that, losing my mother has been hard. I returned back to work only a few days after she passed, not really giving myself time to grieve. It is a year later and I feel like I'm struggling with it a lot more than I did before. Growing up, my mom had other things going on in here life that didn't allow her to be part of mine and my brothers life, so my relationship with her was strained. Once she told me about her condition, I did my best to repair and build a relationship with her in just those 2 short years. Little things upset me like when I see a mother and daughter come in to my work grocery shopping, knowing that I won't be able to do that. It hurts knowing there are so many things I didn't get to learn about her.