Grief Healing Discussion Groups

Feeling Vulnerable

I wonder if any of you are struggling with this. I feel so vulnerable, as though I have to keep alert at all times that no one is going to hurt me. I don't mean physically - although I suppose I would be afraid of that too depending on the situation. I mean emotionally.

Because of this I've become pretty defensive. I've always had a problem with authority. Not that I've committed criminal acts - but I just don't like other people throwing their weight around, displaying their dominance.

So of course, I'm not good with bosses, or bossy people.

This week I've had a run-in with my boss at work over my working hours. I've kept all my appointments and done all my work, but my hours have been somewhat eratic. I can't seem to keep a regular schedule. Some nights I don't sleep until four am, so it's hard to get up at six. Some days I can't stand to sit at my desk, so I go home. I have ALWAYS however, done my work. This is the kind of boss who is kind of insecure about himself - so he used language - body language and speech - to let me know just who was in charge. I was awake all that night because of this - angry and upset. Crying and wishing my husband were here to talk to.

Then last night, I'd been out for dinner with my son and had a great time. I came home and realized that our dog had somehow gotten out and had been barking in the yard while we were gone. One of the neighbors who I'd never met came to bang on our door and laid into me about my !#!¤# dog. No introductions, no "would you please make sure your dog keeps quiet" thing. Just yelling. I felt myself losing control - I'd either yell back or cry. So I slowly closed the door and locked it.

After that I spent an hour crying and having horrible thoughts that maybe he'd come to poison our dog or shoot him or something. My son just said to forget him.