Grief Healing Discussion Groups

Lost mom. I'm an only child.

Stargazer

Hi everyone, 

I'm new to this message board. I'm so glad I found it as lots of the feelings shared have really resonated with me. 

My mom passed away this last August and I've been in a fog ever since. Unless I'm crying that is. I'm 55 years old but feel as though I'm 10 years old. 

My mom had dementia and I was her caretaker until she had to go into an adult foster care. I'm an only child and she really was my world. I I have friends but she was my only family member. My job has been compromised due to depression and a possible neurological issue.  

And now the holidays and dark long winter. I'm trying to figure out how to live in this world without her and find my "new normal", but

it just feels endless. I'm on anti 

depressnts and seeing a therapist. 

I suppose I need to be patient with myself and learn to live through this 

pain. I would give anything to bring

her back. 

Thank you all for sharing your experiences. It's comforting to know I'm not alone  

Hi Stargazer, welcome to this site, I'm glad you found it too.  It's a good safe place to be, where you'll be understood and heard.

I am so sorry you lost your mom.  With her being your only relative, that makes it all the harder.

I lost my mom (also Dementia) a year ago August.  I'm feeling some of the same things, esp. with the holidays coming.  Today I put up my tree and decorated, and I placed the ornaments she'd given me in a prominent position.  It's was poignant.

I'm glad you're seeing someone, I hope it's someone trained in grief counseling, not all are.

I hope things start going better for you, medically and at work.  I had to go back to work two weeks after my beloved husband passed away unexpectedly.  It was really tough, I'm sure you can relate.

I hope you'll read some of the links on this site and continue coming here.

Hi Kayc, 

Thank you for the warm welcome, I felt my spirits lift! :)