Grief Healing Discussion Groups

Mourning my dog and my parents' dog at the same time

Cowgirl19

Hi: 

Over the past two weeks, both my dog and my parents' dog (the dog I grew up with) had to be put to sleep. In both cases, it was the humane thing to do, to prevent any more suffering, but I never expected both of them to go at the same time and it is so, so hard. I don't think I've cried this hard in ages, and my apartment just feels empty -- I feel empty, for that matter. I saw a piece of my dog's kibble on the floor this morning, for example, and just lost it. I can't stop crying, my sleep is rubbish, and I've really been struggling at work: I work in a hospital and I feel like I'm so consumed by my own grief that I haven't been there for my patients and their families in the way that I should be as a medical professional. (I haven't broken down at work or anything, I'm still holding strong, but it's really hard most days.)

I know, with time and tears, that this will pass, that grief is normal and healthy. But it feels like a living, slow-moving nightmare. And because this is my first experience with pet euthanasia, I have no idea how long the grieving process "usually" takes (I realize we all move at our own speeds). If you made it this far, thanks for reading, and for any advice you might have.

• Like 1

I'm sorry you find yourself in this situation, it's the hardest thing in the world (to me)...my dog has cancer and not long to live, I will be in your shoes all too soon and I'm finding anticipatory grief also hard to do.

I've lost several animals over my lifetime and it's not easy no matter how it occurs.  Just as our relationships are unique, so is our grief, so there's not a set timeline.  It will be a gradual adjustment but we continue to love and miss them.