Grief Healing Discussion Groups

Lost My Father 2 Weeks Ago

Hi, I am new to hovforum..

I have lost my father 2 weeks ago. 2 weeks ago today, he was still alived but already very ill. I didn't see the end was coming and still went on as usual to work. This has haunted me ever since and every moments I am repeating those last hours of his life which I werent around to accompany him. How lonely he must had felt though my mom and brother were at home. I always thought how cruel I am to just left him dying. Couldnt seems to forgive myself.

My dear friend,

I'm so sorry to learn of the death of your father, and sorry, too, to learn of the guilt that you are feeling in the wake of his death. If you spend any time reading some of the posts in this forum, however, I think you will discover that guilt is one of the most common reactions in grief. Just now I typed the word "guilt" into the search engine at the top of our main page, and 22 pages of posts came up, on that topic alone!

Here are three of those threads that I hope you will find helpful:

Feeling Horrible Tonight

I Feel Like I’m Starting to Lose It

Why Do I Feel So Guilty?

Tan Sim,

I'm so sorry for the loss of your father. Please, do not feel guilty. Marty is right that just about all of us have felt guilty concerning some aspect of our loved ones death and it is perfectly normal. But you had no way of knowing that he was going to die and you didn't do it on purpose. And when people are close to death, they usually aren't too "aware" of things around them (at least from my experience), so he may not have even known you weren't there. And I'm sure he understands anyway and knows you loved him very much. Go easy on yourself, the long road of grieving is hard enough without beating yourself up about it too. You didn't do anything wrong.

Hugs,

Shell

My heart goes out to you, Tan Sim.