Grief Healing Discussion Groups

Am I Ready?

kath

I am just shy of the two year anniversary of Bob's death. It seems I miss him the most when I have major decisions to make. This is one, and I've made it, but need your prayers as I move forward. Just to re-cap, I lost my job 5 months after Bob died as I was unable to perform adequately while grieving. It took over a year to find new employment. I've been working for 3 months as a Parish Secretary and I love it. I am finally getting to know the processes and being surrounded by caring, faith-filled co-workers has been a real blessing to me. Out of the blue, a former employer contacted me. (Not the one that fired me.) He sold the company I had worked for and made millions. Now he is starting a new company and wants me to be the Office Manager. (I've heard from another supervisor I used to work with that he feels we were the reason for his success and he feels he owes us, as we would have been well paid if we had still been there at the time of the sale.) So, he's trying to re-build his team. There is a lot of potential, but a lot of extra duties and I'm not crazy about the drive. I'd left his employment during Bob's illness to be closer to home.

I have a lot of trepedation about leaving my current job, but the money they have offered is more than I could have ever asked for. With the two kids, I've been worried about how to pay for summer care while I am at work and this has answered that worry. I'll even be able to put some into savings. Within a couple of years, I should be at the same income I had with my spouse. Part of me feels like I'm selling my soul to the devil, going after the money (material things have not been a big priority, but I need my home) when I am happy where I am at. Well, I shared all this with the Parish Administrator and she put me on a leave of absence so I can return if things don't go well. (They like me - I like them.)