Grief Healing Discussion Groups

Taking The Next Step

dravens_rage

Hi all, this is the first time I've written a post so please bare with me. Two years ago i lost my mum to cancer, needless to say it's been a horrible experience to put it politely. Anyway at the turn of the year i thought i should try and make some effort to try and get back on with life and applied to do a degree course where i studied when i was 21. Wasn't sure this is what i should do, to be honest since i heard my mums diagnosis i haven't known what i've wanted for about 4 years, but it was a step in the right direction career wise. It's getting closer to me having to go to college and im finding it so difficult, applying for loans, even just thinking about trying to sort accomodation is a mammoth and scary task, i used to have my mums support with all these decisions and im really starting to feel alone, trying to move on for me just seems so hard, in reality these things aren't such a big deal i know but right now for me they seem gigantic. I think i just want to know if anyone else found it hard trying to pick up life again? for me doing this course is finally accepting everything that has happened, this is how life is now and to be honest it still hurts.

Any thoughts or comments would be greatly appreciated, thankyou

Sean

Sean - you're not alone in your feelings. For me, I run the business that my husband and I both started years ago, and it's been a learning curve. I think what you're doing is a very positive thing. Yes, you'll miss your mother's input - of course you will! I've taken to asking people for help. It's not a bad thing - and you'll find that people will want to help you, even in filling out forms, and such. Baby steps will do it; you can do it. It's a scary thing to move forward without the person you depended on, and loved, for so long, I know. I'm wishing you good thoughts today, hugs, Marsha