Grief Healing Discussion Groups

One Year Today

I'm not very good with words so I writing this from my heart. As I sit here tonight I find it hard to believe it has been a year since I heard my best friend say the words "He's gone" She was staying with him while I ran home to get a change of clothes & feed the dog. I remember pulling over to the side of the road in disbelief. Afterall, he was just suppose to go to the hospice facility to get through this setback and then he would come home. He had pulled through so many times, why wouldn't he this time? This past year has been such a blur. An accomplishment has sometimes just been getting up in the morning and making it through the day. It's been all about taking one day at a time, putting one foot in front of the other. I can say I'm doing better each day. Yes, I miss him terribly, but I'm able to smile at my memories and when I think of him. Today, I went to the hospice he was in his last few days of life, I took them a card, some flowers and lots of supplies for the kitchen, because what better way to honor Tim's memory than to thank the wonderful people that cared for him, myself, and our family and showed us so much love & compassion. It felt good to give back to the ones that gave us so much. I also got a call from my 15 year old granddaughter telling me she got an A+ on her English final. Part of that final was to write a poem and she wrote it about her grandpa. She is going to email it to me, because she said she'd cry if she tried to read it to me. I will share it when she sends it. So all in all, it was a good day. Full of beautiful memories, some tears and knowing I can make it. Tim is always in my heart and I will miss him always, he was my soulmate, my best friend, but he would want me to carry on our dreams and be happy until we can be together again. Thank you for letting me share these thoughts and my day with all of you. You have all helped me so much during this first year and I hope I've been abl