Grief Healing Discussion Groups

Figuring out my work life after loss

Mellar

Hello, I'm new.  The losses I've had this year, I could be posting in multiple groups, but thought I would start here.

I've had one huge loss in April 2020 that I am still reeling from.  It was traumatic has forever changed myself and my husband.  We are still reeling and both in counseling trying to work through it.  My mother has also now been diagnosed with cancer and it is not treatable and has been given a few months.

After my loss in April 2020, i was away from work for 3 months.  After those 3 months I was ready to go back and needed the distraction.  One thing i noticed though is that my ability to focus and deal with decisions and stressful situations has deteriorated.  My patience is thin with trivial things that people stress about, and can normally handle that ok but sometimes get frustrated.  I am a manager of a small crew of 4 and we are all pretty close and were co-workers before I moved into this position.  

I'm struggling with if I should talk to my HR dept or my manager (who's not easy to talk with, he worked the day after his own mother passed).  At work I now need more time to process things.  I find in meetings, I can't walk away with all the info, I need things in writing to read over a few times to wrap my head around the information.  I need time to make a decision, I can't answer right away on some things that for me require thought.  I feel like i'm not 100% at my job anymore and have been thinking I should look at stepping away into a position with less responsibility.  I feel like I'm letting everyone down.  I love my job, and for the most part things are just fine, this is something that just sits in the back of my mind bothering me.