Grief Healing Discussion Groups

Off Topic, Here Goes!

Ok, guys, so it seems we're all resting on our couches or where ever, because it's been real quiet here. I'm judging a chilli cookoff tomorrow - having done this before, I'll take my beano beforehand! My question to all of you is your secret ingredient for your world famous chilli. I'll go first. A pinch of cumin, get the meat well browned with onions and garlic,, before I put in the tomatoes and beans, and lots of hot peppers. Anyone next?? Hugs, Marsha

Marsha:

I have been cooking in chili cook-offs since the 1980's with my father. If you go to www.chilicookoff.com you will find the past world champions recipes on line for ICS(international Chili Society). I have qualified many a times and made the final table against 187-200 cooks at the wolrd. Are you judging chili for the competition and making peoples choice chili or what are you judging? My husband and I, this last October won peoples choice at one day of the three day event in Las vegas. We also won showmanship. My husband died JAn 6 2009. Two ctobers ago we won third in Salsa at the world against 145 contestants. For your peoples choice use sausage, hamburger, Cumin, garlic onions and We used 10 different types of peppers for the flavor and heat. Definately use Gebharts chili powder for flavor and cayene pepper. put in your peppers right before you start serving it will give you flavor and you will need to add on a regular basis because they break down easily. Where are you From? I'm in California. good luck.

Mary Nicoll

Sorry, Marsha.

I can't help you. My chili fixins' come out of a bag :blush: Good luck to you, though!