Grief Healing Discussion Groups

Feeling Slower

Well Christmas is over and thank god for that. I've had a huge group of twenty-something sons and daughters-in-law, etc visiting me for Christmas holidays. A few will be here a couple more weeks. They're great kids and they've been a comfort. But I desperately wish their father were here with us.

I've noticed while talking and walking with my kids that I seem to have become slower over the course of the last year. It's been 16 months since my husband died of cancer, and I'm more or less handling the grief. However, my mind and body have both become sluggish. I'm worried that this will continue or maybe even get worse. I'm not sure if grief does this to people.

I work as a neuropsychologist, so I've been trying to read up on grief and cognitive function, but there's not a lot of literature on the subject. I feel - to put it simply - as though I'm growing stupid. I have trouble concentrating and staying focused, so that might be part of it. My memory is terrible. I keep searching for words and can't find them. Granted, I do have to function in two languages. I speak English with my kids - my native language - and Norwegian at work, since I live in Norway. Moving back and forth between the languages was never a problem before. But now I can't seem to find the words. Sometimes I sit at my computer at work, about to write a report, and think "What's going on here? I have no idea what I'm talking about".

Physically I feel almost as though I have some sort of chronic fatigue syndrome. I used to be able to run through the woods with my dog. Now I can barely make it up a hill. I don't have trouble catching my breath, but my body feels like dead weight - like lead. It's such an effort to move. It's an effort to do anything.

This is very strange. I'm doing a little better with the grief. I have days where I don't cry at all. But maybe all the grief has been shut away in my body and cognitive function.