Grief Healing Discussion Groups

Nothings Getting Better

This is only my second time posting and I'm still not sure if i'm doing it right. My husband passed away of stomach cancer 2 1/2 years after his diagnosis. He has been gone since May 19th @ 905pm. He was 51 years old. Every year Michael would say that he wanted to get a new snowblower. Seems like I always managed to talk him out of it. I feel so bad now. He never really asked for anything and now he's gone. I feel so guilty about so many things. I'm a nurse and I should know something. i should have made him see the dr sooner. He was losing weight but on a diet. Although, when the weight kept coming off I knew something wasnt right. I did everything I could for him. He was in the hosp for three weeks after his 1st surg (17 1/2 hrs), and an emerg 2nd surg a week later. I would go to the hosp at 830 every morn and stay until I had him settled for the night 9-10 pm. It's not that I didnt trust the floor nurses, but they have a heavy load and I knew noone could take care of him like I could. We had a good year in between all the treatments and I know I should be thankful, but I dont remember alot about the day he passed and I cant remember what we said to each other. My 3 boys and I were all with him in his final moments. Even our dog was there. The hospice nurse wanted to transfer him to a hospice bed , but he didnt want to go and i didnt want him to go. He passed away in his chair. The chair he spent so many hours in watching baseball and football with the boys, reading the paper, sitting with the dog, watching tv or one of our favorite movies with me. I know I should be thankful, but I cant get his last 3 breathes of life out of my head. I hear them all the time. Sometimes I feel like I'm going crazy. I miss him so much. My life is so empty and I am so alone no matter how many people are around me. I feel like I will never be happy again or even just "not sad". I would settle for not sad. Please someone tell m