Grief Healing Discussion Groups

Going Back To Work - When?

I've been on sick leave since my husband died a month ago. Today I saw my doctor and she gave me another month of sick leave. I'm not sure what's best to do, but I was dissolved in tears at her office, so she probably thought it best I waited a little before returning to work.

I should probably mention that I work as a psychologist, so being at a job where I'm expected to help other people is completely impossible for me now. In fact, I'm wondering if I'll ever be able to do that again. If I'm incapable of helping myself - how can I help others?

Had I not had to work with people, it might have been best to return to a job and keep myself busy during the day, but as it is - I can't see any other option than to stay home. On the other hand, I know that being alone all day and night is going to be hard too. I used to be thrilled to have days off and the day all to myself and work from home. Then I'd wait for my husband to come home - knowing we'd spend the afternoon and evening together. Now no one is coming home.

I do have my 19-year old son, but I feel I have so little to offer him. As I said in another post - all I have are hugs and food. I try to talk to him about other things - but we're both grieving and finding it difficult to think about anything else besides the person we've both lost.

I have this overwhelming sense of injustice. The "Why Us?" bothers me day and night. I spoke to another widow nearby - a friend of a friend. She lost her first husband to cancer in her twenties. Then remarried, had twins, but one twin died during the first year. Then three years ago her second husband died of a heart attack while out jogging. Her sons are now 17 and 22. She's able to work and be social. But she did say the first year after each death was hell. Still - I think going through this twice - or three times - would have knocked me out long ago.

I'm rambling again. Thanks for listening.

Melina