Grief Healing Discussion Groups

Can't Stand The Pain

Hi my name is Deb....I'm new to this web site,I joined in hopes that it could help me through this horrible grief. My fiance,Steve lost his 6 month battle with brain cancer on Friday Oct.21st one week after his 51st birthday. His funeral was yesterday.I miss him so much....I can't take this agonizing pain.I'm not sure what to do with myself.I can't seem to function anymore.

Hi my name is Deb....I can't take this agonizing pain.I'm not sure what to do with myself.I can't seem to function anymore.

Hello Deb - I am so very sorry to read of your terrible loss. sad.gif

My wife Jean died from liver cancer on April 13th, two days after her 59th birthday. I can understand the severe pain of loss that you are experiencing right now. All you can do is take one breath at a time, then one hour at a time, one day and then one week.

I can hardly recall how I functioned at all in the first few weeks of my loss, but I did find some good support here and at other sites also.

Reading a few good articles and books also helped. Here's one site that helped me:

Free Articles for Mourners

The best book that I have read so far is Alan Wolfelt's Healing A Spouse's Grieving Heart

If you would like to know of some other on-line sites that I have found useful, just reply to this message and I can provide some links.

Take care of yourself and remember when Steve died part of you died too, but also because you live on part of him lives on also.

Kindest regards

Dear Deb,