Grief Healing Discussion Groups

Loss Of Two Within 10 Months

This is my first time on this board and am a little nervous. I did respond to Peggy because I can relate to her. My story started with the diagnosis of my mother's cancer end of June/05. She chose no treatment and died with six weeks at home. She had had a melanoma on her leg 8 years previously and it returned in her lung and liver. I was devastated and felt that this was the worse I could ever feel. She was accepting of her death and was ready to die, she was 75. My sisters , I and dad cared for her at home with the help of comcare - a community group that care for people, not just with cancer, but that want treatment at home and not in the hospital.It was very hard to see her wasting away and the first time she could not get out of bed and had to use her "depends" a kind of diaper i guess, it tore me apart. One month after she died, Aug 15/05, my husband Rick went to the Dr. for a completely different thing but was given a chest xray and a month, Oct 28/05, later was diagnosed with stage 4 lung cancer--it had spread to the lining of his lung. We knew that meant he would die from this but were hopeful that chemo would buy him a little more time. His chemo Dr. had a patient that lived for 4 years. We never asked how long, I guess we didn't want to face that fact and lose any hope we did have. The cancer had also spread to his bones in a few spots. His first 5 chemos were bearable for him and for the last two weeks of every month he didn't feel too bad. This chemo was changed as it didn't have the effect the Dr wanted. The next two chemos were tough. He couldn't really eat anything for at least 5 weeks. He was 57 and when he looked in the mirror said he looked like an 80 yer old man and he did. I knew how sick he was getting but he kept saying that this was just a bump in the road and we'ed get through. I kept my thought to myself, I couldn't take his hope away. He said it couldn't be his time yet--he had