Grief Healing Discussion Groups

I'm New At This

Hello, I am just in the first steps of 'the journey'. My partner was alot older than me and always warned me I could left on my own. I took early retirement to spend more time with him and four months later lost him after a short illness. We had no children - none of my family are local. He didnt want to see anyone but me when he was ill - his twin sister wanted to come but he didnt want her upset. Talk about life being turned on its head. The emptiness of the house , the lack of someone to talk to and to hug. Unbearable doesnt begin to describe it. I go to a grief counsellor who has been very helpful. I cant contemplate the thought of the empty years ahead - I do try and take each day at a time but it is so hard. I find these websites so much comfort, you begin to think you are going mad until you read the experiences of others. I am thinking of you all out there struggling with loss and grief.

Susan

Dear Susan,

With the sadness that this loss brings with it, I welcome you to this group. You will find all kinds of understanding and support here....

I understand the silent house. Bill was older than I by 9 years. We had no kids together. My family is out of town and frankly do not know what to do with me....as well intentioned and loving as they are and try to be.... It is unbearable but somehow we all bear it....we, who believe we could not survive, have survived through the pain and loss....and somehow we will learn how to live with this pain. It is a one-day at a time journey. Being gentle with yourself matters a lot...educate yourself by reading many of the posts that Marty makes and has on her GriefHealing.com site.

We will stick with you and reach out.

Peace

Mary

Susan,