Grief Healing Discussion Groups

Guilt - Can It Block Healing?

I can't believe I've been posting here for two years. And during that time, I've included guilt in many of my postings.

I seem to be healing very slowly - so slowly, I scarcely notice any progress at all. Looking back I can see some positive things happening, but it seems to me that other people in my situation are doing far better. I wonder if part of my problem might be guilt.

My husband and I were very close and we loved each other, but our marriage wasn't perfect. We definitely had some rough times, though things had finally smoothed out the last few years before the dreaded cancer diagnosis. We raised four sons who all turned out well, but life was stressful at times with four children. In spite of it all, our family was a tight-knit group - our own little clan, my husband used to say. Sometimes I think we might have been too focused on our kids and not enough on our marriage. Actually that was my fault, I think. I was so worried about being a good mother, that I think I might have been a not-so-good wife. At times, anyway. I didn't appreciate my husband enough - didn't always treat him the way he deserved.

Most people in this forum seem to have had perfect marriages. Somehow that makes me feel even more of a horrible person.

Someone posted something about dating again. This seems impossible for me. Not just because it's hard to imagine sharing my life with someone other than my husband, but also because I feel this tremendous guilt about not being the wife I really wanted to be to the man I loved for 30 years and lost. I don't feel I deserve love again.

Guilt was my unwanted companion throughout the first three or four months of my grief - and now it's returning. Maybe because part of me wants to move on, feel normal. Guilt is blocking my way, reminding me that I'm not worthy of happiness.

Is there any way out of this?

Melina